Trainer of the Year

Vail Ski & Snowboard School’s Trainer of the Year is awarded annually in to trainers who “suck at the highest level.”

2017-18: Jenn Metz

2016-17: TJ Metz

2015-16: Dual Award – Mike Evans and Joe Webster. Special “Excellence in Training” Ski presented to Mike Porter.

2014-15: Dual Award – Jenn Metz and John Weiss

2013-14: Dave Alonzo


“Best of Bergie”

Best of BergieThe Trainer of the Year is awarded in memory of Donald “Jerry” Berg, affectionately known as Bergie.

Bergie joined the Vail Ski School in the early 1970s. He was a PSIA trainer, examiner and alpine committee chair, and skied on the national demo team from 1988 to 1992. He was also ESF certified in France.

Bergie influenced a generation of Colorado ski instructors, who considered him the best of the best.